How do you get the Pokémon Type Medals?

Pokémon Go Type Medals are similar to the achievement medals, but focused on specific Pokémon types. Unlike the Achievement Medals, though, the type medals do come with a pretty significant reward. Each Medal increases your chances of catching a Pokémon of that type by 10% (in cases when a Pokémon has two types, the bonus is the average of both types.)

Since you get the bonus without having to do anything special, like curve your shot, and without having to expend any additional resources, like a Razz Berry or Ultra Ball, the bonus is not only effortless once you get it, but essentially free and infinite. That’s a great reason to max out your type medals.

How do you earn medals?

To get a type medal, you need to hatch, catch, or evolve Pokémon of that type. Doing any one of those things gets you a point towards the medal and Pokémon with two types will award you with a point in both types.

  • Bronze: Catch 10 Pokémon
  • Silver: Catch 50 Pokémon
  • Gold: Catch 200 Pokémon
  • Platinum: Catch 2,500 Pokémon

While you’ll naturally come across Pokémon of every type in regular gameplay, one of the best ways to complete type medals fast is to focus on events in which certain Pokémon are boosted (especially Community Days) and to go to your local parks where specific Pokémon nests can be found. If you connect with other local trainers on social media, some groups even share nest locations so you can pick out the right park each week to find the type you’re trying to complete.

What about Pokémon that evolve into different types?

A few Pokémon change types as they evolve. For example, Shelldor and Seel are water types, but their evolutions, Cloyster and Dewgong are Water and Ice types. That means, if you catch or hatch the base Pokémon, you will get 1 point for your Water Medal but, when you evolve them, you’ll get a second Water point and an Ice point.

How do you get the Schoolkid Medal for Normal type Pokémon?

There are so many normal type Pokémon and so many common Pokémon like Pidgey and Rattata are normal types. Because mass evolving Pidgey is a staple of leveling up, this is one of the easiest medals to get.

Some common Pokémon you can Hatch, Catch, or Evolve to earn this Medal include:

  • Igglybuff
  • Azurill
  • Pidgey
  • Rattata
  • Farfetch’d
  • Kangaskhan
  • Tauros
  • Spearow
  • Meowth
  • Doduo
  • Lickitung
  • Chansey
  • Eevee
  • Snorlax
  • Teddiursa
  • Stantler
  • Miltank
  • Zigzagoon
  • Tailow
  • Slakoth
  • Whismur
  • Skitty
  • Swablu
  • Pidgeotto
  • Pidgeot
  • Raticate
  • Fearow
  • Jigglypuff
  • Wigglytuff
  • Persian
  • Dodrio
  • Furret
  • Ursaring
  • Blissey
  • Linoone
  • Swellow
  • Vigoroth
  • Slaking
  • Loudred
  • Exploud
  • Delcatty

Note: Farfetch’d, Kangaskhan, and Taurus are Regional Exclusives.

How do you get the Bird Keeper Medal for Flying type Pokémon?

Like Normal type Pokémon, Flying types abound, including the very common Pidgey, Spearow, and Zubat. Since mass evolving Pidgey to Pidgeotto is a…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>